Back to Catalog

Sparrows Jump Nine Sandpipers - Full Score (with parts)

Composer: Sigler, Andrew

Arrangement: Quintet

Instruments: Flute, Clarinet, Piano, Volin, Violoncello

Number of Pages: 44

Score Dimensions: 9,25 x 12,2" / 23,5 x 31 cm

ISMN: 979-0-801164-39-1

This is the full score (conductors' score), which includes the soloists parts, as inserts. The study score will be available very shortly.

Sparrows Jump Nine Sandpipers was written in response to a call for scores by the Washington Composer's Forum and the Seattle based chamber group Simple Measures. The call was for a piece that called to mind 'air' or 'flight' and was to be for two or more members of a 'Pierrot Ensemble' (the name is derived from the instrumental ensemble found in Arnolg Schoenberg's Pierrot Lunaire) which consistes of flute, clarinet, violin, violoncello and piano. Sparrows Jump Nine Sandpipers originally consisted of only the first movement, but after several performances the composer decided to add the two additional ones. The first movement is light, playful and occasionally dramatic, while the second is dreamy and wandering. The final movement is quick and decisive.

As part of the Seattle performances the composer was asked to speak to the audience, and at each concert he was asked about the title. Mr. Sigler explains that "I came up with it (as I have with most titles for my music) after writing the piece, and frankly (in this case) named the piece in hopes that it would better fut the bill for the call of scores. Though there is no direct relationship between the title and the music, it was pointed out to me and the audience by clarinetis Sean Osborn at the premier that the repeatednotes in the main motive do in fact mimic the call of a sandpiper."