Christopher G. Sahar

Born August 7, 1966, Jersey City, New Jersey, U.S.

Christopher Sahar’s love of music began when he took his first piano lessons at 7. Although he composed on his own since a child, it was not until his late 30’s he began serious study of music composition, due to a fortuitous meeting between one of Mr. Sahar’s good friends, a choir director, and an opera composer, Kristin Hevner, at the department store counter where his friend was earning extra income. Upon the choir director’s recommendation, Mr. Sahar commenced composition studies with Ms. Hevner. Later, Mr. Sahar continued his composition studies with Conrad Cummings at Juilliard’s Evening Division.

Mr. Sahar received and completed his first commission for a New York City performance in April 2008, when his solo organ work Volcano was performed. In 2011, Mr. Sahar’s one-act opera Crossing the Straits was performed in New York City by the Metropolis Opera Project, a young opera company committed to promoting and performing new musical dramas by Broadway and classical composers.

Mr. Sahar resides in Astoria, NY, home to one of the largest Greek communities in the U.S. He has studied abroad in Sweden and served as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Belize, Central America.

As a garralous person, Mr. Sahar believes that artistic creation (in the form of text, poetry and music) is simply his humble commentary upon the unfolding future, the misremembered past and delusional future.

Christopher's works that are being published by Editions Musica Ferrum:

Crossing the Straits for Soprano, Tenor, Solo Clarinet in Bb and Solo Piano

Metamorphosis for Piano Duet and Percussion

Mood Music for Wind Trio (flute, Oboe, Bassoon)

Four Violin Duos for violin duet