Christos Sp. Anastassiou

Christos Sp. Anastassiou was born in Athens, where he studied and got degrees in harmony, counterpoint, orchestration and fugue. He also studied the art of conducting with Lefteris Halkiadakis. He carried on studying composition with Theodoros Antoniou with whom he got a diploma in composition and orchestra conducting. He has participated in a number of seminars about contemporary concert hall music in Greece and Abroad. His studies in composition, analysis and conducting were concluded in the university of Belgrade with Professors Srdjan Hofman, Zoran Eric΄ and Raiko Maksimovic΄ with whom he got a Masters of Arts in 1997.

He has been honoured in several competitions, like being a finalist of the "ALEA II" International Competition of Composition of the University of Boston, with his work Anakyklisis, finalist in the final of the "OLYMPIA" International Competition of Composition in Athens, with his work Nomos for string quartet, finalist in the 3rd Festival of contemporary music of Belgrade with his work Variations for solo guitar and finalist of the "Taukay" International Competition of Composition in Italy, with his work Anima Mundi for electronic media.

As a composer he has composed for a wide variety of media (more than 60 works), including solo, chamber orchestra, symphonic orchestra, string quartets, works for voice, choral music, music for the theatre and television and works for electronic media.

His works have been performed by important ensembles of the international contemporary music scene. Many of his works are commissioned by musical organizations and institutions in Greece and abroad (ALEA III, Taukai Edizioni Musicali, Megaron of Athens, etc).

Currently he lives in Athens. He is Professor of Composition and director of studies in various Conservatories in Athens. He has also repeatedly lectured and taught in seminars on the music of the 20th century.

Since 1994 he has been a member of the Greek "Composers Union".

Anastassiou works that are being published by Editions Musica Ferrum:

Intermezzo for Solo Piano

Stochasmos for Solo Flute

Monologue for Solo Clarinet in Bb

String Quartet No. 2

Nomos for String Quartet

Diastasis for Chamber Orchestra

 Markon for solo flute

Paravasis for solo piano