Nikolas Sideris

Nikolas Sideris was born in Athens, Greece in 1977. He has been studying music since the age of 5, and holds a PhD in Composition from Royal Holloway, University of London. He received his Masters in Composition from the same university in 2005 with distinction and he also has a diploma in Piano with honors, and degrees in Harmony, Counterpoint and Fugue. His studies in the UK were funded by the National Scholarship Foundation of Greece (IKY).

Nikolas, as a pianist has performed in concerts all over Greece, in cities such as Athens, Ag. Paraskevi, Holargos, and Ioannina, as well as abroad in the USA and Syria.

His works have been performed in the UK, USA, Germany and greece and range  from small works for solo instruments, to large works for string orchestras. His work Piano Stories for piano, 4 hands won the 1st prize in the Second International Composition Competition "Artistes en Herbes" in Luxembourg in 2013. His work for string orchestra (6-6-5-5-2) Exeliksis won the first prize in the Royal Holloway Composition Competition in 2005 and was performed live the next year in Egham, UK. He's received commissions by orchestras and soloists from around the world and his work The City Under Different Eyes for Solo Piano and Audio Manipulation was featured in an adaptive audio playback software system.

He is also active in the computer games industry, as a composer and sound designer and recently the game that he scored, Privates by Size Five Games won a BAFTA for best Educational - Secondary Game. He co-owns North by Sound, an Audio Production company based in Norway and Greece.

He is a loving husband and father of two.

Nikolas' works that are being published by Editions Musica Ferrum:

Reflections for Solo Piano

Peculiarities for Flute and Piano

Nelly Cootalot: The Fowl of Fleet OST for Solo Piano

Fairyland in Treble for Piano, 4 hands

Piano Stories for Piano, 4 Hands

Perniciosus for Solo Piano

Sketch Music For Solo Piano

Non-Unique for solo Flute and Piano

Le Hasard et la Nécessité for String Orchestra

Superabimus for String Orchestra